Larry P. McDougal
Larry P. McDougal - Attorney at Law
Richmond, Texas
24/7 Free Consultation
Local 281-725-6025
Toll Free 800-417-8130
Email the Larry P. McDougal Law Firm
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

What to do immediately after a DWI arrest in Texas

Few people watch the Super Bowl without a beer in hand, and law enforcement officials know this. That is why Super Bowl Sunday is one of the biggest nights of the year for DWI arrest in Texas.

If you were one of the unlucky drivers to get arrested for drunk driving on Super Bowl Sunday, then you are probably confused about what you should do next, especially if it is your first offense. You may be wondering if you should just plead guilty to the charges so that you can move on with your life, or if you should try to fight the charges. 

YOU NEVER JUST PLEAD GUILTY AND TAKE WHAT THE PROSECUTION OFFERS.

Generally speaking, you should always fight DWI charges in Texas, even if the evidence seems stacked against you and you are willing to admit that you made a huge mistake. That's because the consequences of DWI convictions in Texas are extremely severe.

You face jail time, hefty fines, license suspension and a permanent criminal record. You might also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, and your car insurance rates could skyrocket. You will also be required to pay the State of Texas $1,000 per year or more in surcharge fees for 3 years.

It's not easy to defeat a DWI charge in Texas, and in some cases, it can be difficult to avoid felony charges. However, by working with an experienced criminal defense lawyer, the opportunity for a favorable plea agreement or eventual dismissal increases dramatically.

With more than 20 years of experience, Richmond DWI defense lawyer Larry McDougal knows how to examine your traffic stop and arrest to determine if there are any holes in the prosecution's case. He also knows how to provide you with sound advice so you are prepared to make the right decisions in your case.

When to call a lawyer

It's important to call an attorney as soon as possible after a DWI arrest. In fact, you must request a administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing within 15 days of your DWI arrest in order to challenge your license suspension.

First-time offenders who refuse a breath or blood test face a license suspension 180 days or more. Second-time offenders face a license suspension of up to a year, or an automatic one year if breath or blood testing was refused. Therefore, if you want to keep your license, you must act quickly.

Talk to an experienced criminal defense attorney in your area for more information on the potential consequences that you face and how to reduce the negative impact a DWI conviction could have on your life.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Follow Us