New Texas laws could allow you to drive after a driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction immediately. Thanks to the ignition interlock device, you could regain your driving privileges as soon as the device is installed.
There are two kinds of administrative license restrictions you can face in Texas. One is the Administrative License Revocation. The other is the Judicial Revocation.
How do administrative license restrictions work?
Under the ALR, your license can be immediately confiscated if your blood alcohol concentration is .08 or higher. You can also lose your license immediately if you refuse to take the BAC test when requested. If you are under 21, then you could lose your license if your BAC is .02 or higher. For commercial drivers, the limit is .04 or higher. You’ll lose your license through a Judicial Revocation if you’re convicted of a DWI or DUI in court.
In each case, there are certain steps you need to follow to have your license reinstated. Initially, the arresting officer will give you a 15-day permit to allow you to drive. This grace period gives you time to challenge the suspension of your license. If you don’t challenge it, you may have to wait 90 days to have your license reinstated. You’ll also have to pay a fee of $125.
Texas’s laws require that those who are convicted of a DWI go to jail for up to six months and face a fine of up to $2,000. On a first offense, you could face a license suspension of up to one year. You may be able to obtain an ignition interlock device for this offense and be able to drive sooner than the normally required 90 days. If your BAC was 0.15 or higher, you’ll need to have an ignition interlock device installed before you can drive.