Texas motorists who receive a conviction of driving under the influence may qualify for the ignition interlock device program. With an IID, you can obtain a restricted driver’s license by installing an interlock device to test driver blood alcohol content on any vehicle that you use. Most IIDs allow you to simply breathe into the apparatus before starting the vehicle. If the device detects alcohol in your blood, the car will not start. 

If you currently have a suspended license because of a Texas DUI, learn more about the IID program. 

Qualifying for an IID 

To qualify for this program, you must have a current, valid Texas driver’s license. You cannot have a revocation or suspension on your record for any reason other than the DUI in question. When you apply, you must send a $10 fee to the Texas Department of Public Safety. In addition, you must pay any outstanding reinstatement fees on your driving record. 

You can start the process by visiting the state’s License Eligibility website. This provides information on the steps that you must take to drive legally, including any mandatory suspension period and outstanding fees. 

Obtaining an IID 

The state will process your request within 21 days of receipt. If you receive approval for this program, you must have an IID installed at your own expense at a location that holds certification for this purpose from the state Department of Public Safety. Once installed, you cannot have the IID removed without a court order signed by the county clerk or judge. 

Depending on the certified provider, the monthly cost of an IID ranges from $65 to $95. However, if you do not obtain an IID, you may lose your driving privileges for a full year as well as an additional 180-day suspension if you refused to take a breath test at the scene of the arrest. Other penalties for a first-time Texas DUI include at least three days in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.