Repercussions for Theft in Texas

When people take the property of someone else with the intention of keeping it, they are committing theft. Texas has severe penalties in place for those who receive a theft conviction. 

The penalties vary depending on the type and value of the stolen property. While someone may only face a fine for a low-value theft, a high-value item may lead to jail time. 

Misdemeanor offenses 

When the item taken is worth less than $50, the theft is a Class C misdemeanor and may lead to a fine of up to $500. If the property value is between $50 and $500, then the conviction is a Class B misdemeanor, which may lead to six months in jail and a $2,000 fine. 

People convicted of theft of property with a value between $500 to $1,500 may face a Class A misdemeanor, which may lead to a $4,000 fine and as long as 12 months in jail. 

Felony offenses 

The following property value ranges determine the level of the felony conviction and the penalties for theft

  • $1,500 to $20,000: state jail felony conviction, as many as two years in jail, up to $10,000 fine 
  • $20,000 to $100,000: third-degree felony, as many as 10 years in jail, up to $10,000 fine 
  • $100,000 to $200,000: second-degree felony, as many as 20 years in prison, up to $10,000 fine 
  • $200,000 or more: first-degree felony, up to life in prison, up to $10,000 fine 

Penalty variations  

There is specific property that may lead to a felony conviction, even if the value is less than $1,500. For example, if a person steals an election ballot or an item from a grave, the crime becomes a state jail felony. Taking livestock or a controlled substance may lead to a third-degree felony conviction.